These Are the Coffee Table Books You Need if You Love Fashion

It’s 2018, and coffee table book collecting is basically a sport. We’ve gathered the best of the best from the fashion set just for you – they’re sure to make any coffee table shine with stylish knowledge, plus they all look fantastic tucked under a mini Koons sculpture or Diptyque birthday present.

Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty

The book published alongside the designer’s exhibit at the Met’s Costume Institute is a stunning study of one of the most provocative designers of his generation, as well as one of the first exhibits to bring the full force of the Costume Institute into existence. Not to mention how #savage that glistening skull would be staring up from your sleek tabletop.

Grace: Thirty Years of Fashion at Vogue

This gorgeous tome celebrates the work of fashion styling titan Grace Coddington during her years at Vogue. Some of the magazine’s most iconic shoots were courtesy of Grace’s extravagant taste and acute attention to detail; the best of her work has been whittled down into these 408 pages. You could say there’s a certain ‘grace’ about them.

Harper’s Bazaar: Models

This one is all about the ladies on the cover. Derek Blasberg selected 28 models from the magazine’s history to feature and discuss in-depth between the pages of iconic photography by the likes of Patrick Demarchelier, Peter Lindbergh, and Richard Avedon. The models range from the original supers (think Iman, Cindy Crawford, Gisele Bündchen) to fresher faces (Lara Stone, Hilary Rhoda, Lily Donaldson).

 

Dior

Assouline’s three-part dissection of the storied fashion house highlights the most memorable images from the brand’s fabled history. Through clothes, jewelry, and fragrance, Dior has woven an impeccable tapestry of luxury and refinement, presented here in three succinct volumes (with a tantalizing slipcase). How’s that for a New Look?

The Big Book of Chic

Internationally-acclaimed interior designer Miles Redd presents his special version of eclectic-chic in this home-based publication. The pages are filled with wise words about design alongside photographic evidence of Redd’s preference for cozy glamour.

Chanel

In another three-book case from Assouline, the works of a different legendary fashion house are on display. The collection traces the history of Chanel through three of its major creative successes: clothing, jewelry, and of course, perfume. Now if we can just find that massive bottle of Chanel No. 5 in real life…

Vogue: The Covers

This updated edition of the wildly successful collection of Vogue covers has expanded to include every cover shot since 2010, featuring celebrated shots of cultural icons like Michelle Obama, Kim and Kanye, Lena Dunham, and many more. There’s a lot to dig through in the magazine’s 125-year history, but we suggest you start with judging it by the cover(s).

Alaïa

This ain’t your average designer introspective; this limited-edition opus takes the reader through the creation of a runway fashion show, from start to finish, for Azzedine Alaïa’s Spring 1992 collection. Every dazzling detail of the notoriously ephemeral event that is the fashion show is preserved in the pages of this deep green, leather-bound book.

Annie Leibovitz: Portraits 2005-2016

This stunning collection of portraits by a wildly iconic photographer follows some of the most famous and distinguished figures of the last decade caught in their most memorable moments, all alongside never-before-published photography. Think that Kim and Kanye photo, and even further back to the first glimpse of the new Miley.

Donald: the Book

This book by the “Andy Warhol of Instagram” is full of playful artworks from the fashion world’s favorite illustrator, Donald Robertson. It’s the next best thing to owning an original @drawbertson.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 

The Styletto is the official blog of Sole Serum, the essential oil-infused cream that relieves pain and eliminates inflammation caused by your most painful (but also most fabulous) shoes.

FOLLOW SOLE SERUM ON